Members of the board, experts and secretariat


Carl Reinhold Bråkenhielm, Chairperson

Carl Reinhold Bråkenhielm is Professor of Empirical Life Philosophy Studies at Uppsala University. With Torbjörn Fagerström he has published “Gud och Darwin – känner de varandra?” (“God and Darwin – do they know each other?”)  (2007). In 2009, he published “Verklighetsbilder om bl.a. icke-religiösa livsåskådningar” (“Reality pictures of non-religious worldviews”). He contributed to the state-of-the-art reports in 2007 and 2010.

Tuija Hilding-Rydevik, Deputy chairperson

Tuija Hilding-Rydevik is a professor in Environmental Assessment and the Director of the Swedish Biodiversity Centre (CBM), Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) and Uppsala University. Tuija Hilding-Rydevik’s social science research examines how environmental and sustainability perspectives are used and integrated in different planning and Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) processes.





Karin Högdahl

Karin Högdahl is a bedrock geologist and Senior Research Assistant at the Department of Earth and Ecosystem Sciences at Lund University and a researcher at the Department of Solid Earth Geology at Uppsala University. Her research focuses on the geological evolution of Sweden’s older bedrock.

Lena Andersson-Skog

Lena Andersson-Skog is Professor of Economic History at Umeå University. Her research deals with the interaction between politics, technical system change and economic development in the transport and communications sector from the end of the 19th century, as well as the emergence of the welfare state and enterprise and wage labour from a gender perspective after 1950.

Sophie Grape

Sophie Grape is a nuclear physicist and researcher at the Division of applied nuclear physics at Uppsala University and she defended her dissertation in 2009. Since then she has been working in the field of nuclear safeguards and especially with research on non-destructive assay of used nuclear fuel. Sophie is a member of the Council since (October) 2013

Mats Harms-Ringdahl

Mats Harms-Ringdahl is professor of Radiation Biology at Stockholm University’s Centre for Radiation Protection Research. Conducts research on the risks of exposure to low radiation doses and the mechanisms behind the great differences in individual sensitivity observed in connection with tumour therapy.

Lennart Johansson

Lennart Johansson is Associate Professor of Radiophysics, a hospital physicist and radiation protection expert at the University Hospital of Northern Sweden in Umeå. He has conducted research on radiation doses from radioactive substances in the body or in our environment in general, and particularly doses to patients from examinations with radioactively labelled tracers.

Thomas Kaiserfeld

Thomas Kaiserfeld is professor of history of ideas and sciences at Lund University. His research concerns technology, science and political life from the 18th century onwards. His main interest has been the interaction between political decision-making and expert advice. Another theme has been the design of organisations created to promote the use of science.

Mikael Karlsson

Mikael Karlsson is a researcher in environmental policy at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH). He holds a PhD in Environmental and energy Systems. His research concerns sustainable development, risk management and the correlation between environmental science and policy. Dr Karlsson is the chair of the European Environment Bureau, works as a senior advisor in 2050 Consulting and is the former chairperson of the Swedish Society for Nature Conservation (SSNC).

Jenny Palm

Jenny Palm is professor of technology and social change at Linköping University. Her research concerns policy and governance processes relating to energy and the environment at local and regional level. Professor Palm also conducts research on how different energy users understand, interpret and act in various energy markets on the basis of the rules set up (inter)nationally and locally.

Ingmar Persson

Ingmar Persson is Professor of inorganic and physical chemistry at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) in Uppsala. His research concerns reaction and structure studies of metal compounds in solution and natural systems as soil and archeological wood, and of metal complexes formed at the extraction of used nuclear fuel using synchrotron light based X-ray methods.

Special advisers

Hannu Hänninen

Hannu Hänninen has been an expert at the Swedish National Council for Nuclear Waste since 2002. He is Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Helsinki University of Technology. Hänninen conducts research on materials technology, welding technology, nondestructive testing and fracture mechanics and has published more than 300 scientific publications.

Ingvar Persson

Ingvar Persson, Master of Laws, former General Counsel at the Swedish Nuclear Power Inspectorate. Formerly worked at the Government Offices with matters relating to the Nuclear Activities Act and the Radiation Protection Act. Headed the Swedish delegation in the deliberations leading up to the creation of the Nuclear Waste Convention. Was responsible for matters concerning the Euratom Treaty during the negotiations to form the EU.


Peter Andersson

Peter Andersson is the Council's Executive Director since August 15th 2016 and he has been administrative officer at the Swedish National Council for Nuclear Waste since 2011. Peter's last position was with Östhammar Municipality, where he worked with nuclear waste issues. Since 2000, Peter has worked with issues related to nature and the environment at a regional and local level. Peter has a master's degree in biology from the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences.

Telephone: +46 8 405 20 94, mobile: +46 72 538 48 28
E-mail: peter [dot] h [dot] andersson [at] gov [dot] se


Johanna Swedin

Johanna Swedin is administrative officer and Web Editor for the Council. Her previous job was with the committee of Inquiry support as the Web editor. Johanna has a master's degree in History.  

Telephone: +46 8 405 27 28, mobile: +46 73 235 27 28
E-mail: johanna [dot] swedin [at] gov [dot] se 

Evis Bergenlöv

Evis Bergenlöv is administrative officer for the Swedish National Council for Nuclear Waste. Evis is a communicator and has extensive experience of management in the Government Offices. Her previous job was with the the Environmental Advisory Council. Evis has also worked for many years as a press assistant in the political leadership of the Ministry of the Environment.


Telefon: 08-405 20 44 
Mobil: 070-699 39 95
E-post: fornamn [dot] efternamn [at] regeringskansliet [dot] se