Members of the board, experts and secretariat


Read more about the Council´s members below.



Carl Reinhold

Bråkenhielm, Carl Reinhold

Carl Reinhold Bråkenhielm is Professor of Empirical Life Philosophy Studies at Uppsala University. With Torbjörn Fagerström he has published “Gud och Darwin – känner de varandra?” (“God and Darwin – do they know each other?”)  (2007). In 2009, he published “Verklighetsbilder om bl.a. icke-religiösa livsåskådningar” (“Reality pictures of non-religious worldviews”).

Deputy chairperson


Hilding-Rydevik, Tuija

Tuija Hilding-Rydevik is a professor in Environmental Assessment and the Director of the Swedish Biodiversity Centre (CBM), Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) and Uppsala University. Tuija Hilding-Rydevik’s social science research examines how environmental and sustainability perspectives are used and integrated in different planning and Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) processes.

Tuija is both deputy chaiperson and commissioner.


Sophie Grape

Grape, Sophie

Sophie Grape is a nuclear physicist and researcher at the Division of applied nuclear physics at Uppsala University and she defended her dissertation in 2009. Since then she has been working in the field of nuclear safeguards and especially with research on non-destructive assay of used nuclear fuel.


Harms-Ringdahl, Mats

Mats Harms-Ringdahl is senior professor in Radiation Biology at The Centre for Radiation Protection Research, Stockholm University. His interest of research is the health risks from exposure to low doses of ionizing radiation, doses that correspond to the natural background radiation. His research also aims to understand the mechanisms behind variations in sensitivity between different persons, a problem of specific concern in radiotherapy of tumors.


Kaiserfeld, Thomas

Thomas Kaiserfeld is professor of history of ideas and sciences at Lund University. His research concerns technology, science and political life from the 18th century onwards. His main interest has been the interaction between political decision-making and expert advice. Another theme has been the design of organisations created to promote the use of science.


Karlsson, Mikael

Mikael Karlsson is a researcher in environmental science and policy at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH). He holds a PhD in Environmental and Energy Systems. His research concerns sustainable development and risk governance related to e.g. climate change, energy systems and hazardous chemicals. Dr. Karlsson is President of the European Environment Bureau, and also senior partner at 2050 Consulting.


Persson, Ingmar

Ingmar Persson is Professor of inorganic and physical chemistry at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) in Uppsala. His research concerns reaction and structure studies of metal compounds in solution and natural systems as soil and archeological wood, and of metal complexes formed at the extraction of used nuclear fuel using synchrotron light based X-ray methods.


Soneryd, Linda

Linda Soneryd is professor of sociology at the University of Gothenburg. She is also Score Fellow at the Stockholm Centre for Organizational Research (Score), Stockholm University. Linda’s research concerns environmental issues and controversial technologies, with a particular focus on public participation and the possibilities for concerned groups of citizens to take part of decision and planning processes.

Special advisers


Hänninen, Hannu

Hannu Hänninen has been an expert at the Swedish National Council for Nuclear Waste since 2002. He is Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Aalto University, School of Engineering. Hänninen conducts research on materials technology, welding technology, nondestructive testing and fracture mechanics and has published more than 300 scientific publications.


Persson, Ingvar

Ingvar Persson, Master of Laws, former General Counsel at the Swedish Nuclear Power Inspectorate. Formerly worked at the Government Offices with matters relating to the Nuclear Activities Act and the Radiation Protection Act. Chairman of Governments Inquiry concerning review of the Radiation Safety legislation. Headed the Swedish delegation in the deliberations leading up to the creation of the Nuclear Waste Convention. Was responsible for issues relating to the Euratom Treaty in the negotiations regarding the Swedish EU membership.



Andersson, Peter

Peter Andersson is the Council's Executive Director since August 15th 2016 and he has been administrative officer at the Swedish National Council for Nuclear Waste since 2011. Peter's last position was with Östhammar Municipality, where he worked with nuclear waste issues. Since 2000, Peter has worked with issues related to nature and the environment at a regional and local level. Peter has a master's degree in biology from the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences.

Telephone: +46 8 405 20 94 
Mobile: +46 72 538 48 28


Bergenlöv, Evis

Evis Bergenlöv is administrative officer for the Swedish National Council for Nuclear Waste. Evis is a communicator and has extensive experience of management in the Government Offices. Her previous job was with the the Environmental Advisory Council. Evis has also worked for many years as a press assistant in the political leadership of the Ministry of the Environment.

Telefon: 08-405 20 44 
Mobil: 070-699 39 95


Swedin, Johanna

Johanna Swedin is scientific secretary and Web Editor for the Council. Her previous job was with the committee of Inquiry support as the Web editor. Johanna has a master's degree in History.  

Mobile: +46 70 615 24 37